East China Normal University

East China Normal University (ECNU) was established in October 1951 on the base of the Great China University and Kwang Hua University’s arts and science faculties, while incorporating some other departments from Fudan University and Tongji University. 
Being a university with international perspective, ECNU attaches great importance to the internationalization in its development and has established strategic cooperative partnership with many world-renowned universities from all over the world. In 2008, it set up the Study and Training Base for International Chinese Teacher under Hanban, the National Office for Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language. 
ECNU is comprised of 21 schools, 58 departments, over 4,100 faculty and staff, over 15,700 undergraduates and over 8,100 graduates and professional students.  ECNU hosts approximately 3,000 international students and is affiliated with 19 primary and secondary schools. ECNU’s library holds over 4 million volumes.  
ECNU boasts 2 State Key Labs, 1 National Field Observation and Research Station, 7 Key Labs or Engineering Centers, 7 Key Research Bases for Humanities and Social Sciences and one Base for Strategic Studies of the Ministry of Education. And it also has 7 Key Labs or Engineering Centers and 3 Social Sciences Innovation Bases and Studios of Shanghai Municipality. The University sponsors or supervises publication of more than 20 academic journals and periodicals. 
East China Normal University is accredited by the Chinese Ministry of Education.  In most academic rankings of Chinese universities, ECNU is generally considered one of the top twenty universities in China.
Programs Hosted:
Host City Description:
Shanghai is the largest Chinese city by population and the largest city proper by population in the world. It is one of the four direct-controlled municipalities, with a population of more than 24 million as of 2013. It is a global financial center, and a transport hub with the world's busiest container port. Located in the Yangtze River Delta in East China, Shanghai sits at the mouth of the Yangtze in the middle portion of the Chinese coast. The municipality borders the provinces of Jiangsu and Zhejiang to the north, south and west, and is bounded to the east by the East China Sea.
For centuries a major administrative, shipping, and trading town, Shanghai grew in importance in the 19th century due to European recognition of its favorable port location and economic potential. The city was one of five opened to foreign trade following the British victory over China in the First Opium War while the subsequent 1842 Treaty of Nanking and 1844 Treaty of Whampoa allowed the establishment of the Shanghai International Settlement and the French Concession. The city then flourished as a center of commerce between east and west, and became the undisputed financial hub of the Asia Pacific in the 1930s.However, with the Communist Party takeover of the mainland in 1949, trade was reoriented to focus on socialist countries, and the city's global influence declined. In the 1990s, the economic reforms introduced by Deng Xiaoping resulted in an intense re-development of the city, aiding the return of finance and foreign investment to the city.